Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

New Pinellas school board members begin today



Terry Krassner and Lew Williams were sworn in this morning as the Pinellas County School Board's newest members.

Circuit Judge Michael Andrews administered the oath of office to them and to the board members who won re-election, Linda Lerner and Peggy O'Shea.

The new board elected Carol Cook as the new chair, replacing Janet Clark, who had served the traditional one-year term. It elected Robin Wikle as the new vice chair, replacing Cook. (Cook was unchallenged for chair. Clark nominated herself for vice chair and was the lone vote for herself.)

In a 4-3 vote, the board also elected Cook over Clark to be the board's representative to the Florida School Board Association's legislative committee.

The new members could play a key role immediately in several big decisions. A board workshop is scheduled to begin at 10:30 a.m., with ongoing debate over parts of Superintendent Julie Janssen's student assignment/achievement plan, including the proposed merger of Lakeview Fundamental and Gulfport elementaries and what kind of top-flight academic program to bring to Countryside High.


[Last modified: Tuesday, November 16, 2010 9:49am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours