Light Thunderstorms and Rain73° WeatherLight Thunderstorms and Rain73° Weather

Gradebook

Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

The number of the week is ...

5

March

... 11,375. That's the number of non-licensed Florida drivers who received notice for the second quarter of the school year that they aren't eligible to get a license. Why? Too many missed school days. Florida law says that minor students who have more than 15 unexcused absences in a 90-day period are not eligible to apply for or receive a driver's license. The goal is to get kids to come to school, not to keep them from driving, state officials say. And, they say, it seems to be working. For 2004-05, only 4 percent of students who got one suspension notice actually got a second. To see how each county stacks up, click here. The five counties with the most student license suspensions in the latest quarter were Duval (338), Miami-Dade (275), Sarasota (205), Broward (203) and Polk (192).

[Last modified: Tuesday, May 25, 2010 9:15am]

    

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

Loading...