Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Outstanding Pinellas educators



The Pinellas School District has announced the 25 semifinalists in the 2008 Outstanding Educators Recognition program. Five semifinalists were named in each of five categories.

The district received 234 nominations for this year’s Outstanding Educator. Two administrators and a person from the business community will observe each semifinalist in the classroom and select three finalists in each category. A winner in each category and the 2008 Outstanding Educator will be announced at a dinner Feb. 6 at Tropicana Field, sponsored by the Pinellas Education Foundation.

To see the semifinalist lists, read on.

Commitment to Improvement of the Profession: Debbie Georgia, Tyrone Middle School; Sandra Hume-Marston, Sunset Hills Elementary; Malla Kolhoff, Palm Harbor University High; Anne Morgan, Northeast Community School; JoAnne Todd, Osceola Middle School.

Creativity & Innovation: Susan Carney, Ozona Elementary; Stefanie Frump, Campbell Park Elementary; David Mapp Jr., Palm Harbor Middle School; Irene Seybold, Cross Bayou Elementary; Phoebe Waller, Pasadena Fundamental Elementary.

Inspiring Students to Performance at Higher Levels: Stanley Butts, John Hopkins Middle School; Kevin Haugabrook, John Hopkins Middle School; Mary Olivieri, Largo Middle School; Louis Pekrul, Lealman Intermediate; Kevin Schottler, Northeast High.

Commitment to Children & Families: Kristin Brillant, Cross Bayou Elementary; Francia Germosen, Eisenhower Elementary; Jennifer Hobbs, Fairmount Park Elementary; Janine Stafford, Palm Harbor Middle; Mary Watkins, Hospital/Homebound.

Ambassador of the Profession: Evelyn Gardner, PTEC-St. Petersburg; Sandra Patterson,  St. Petersburg High; Chad Pink, Cross Bayou Elementary; Patricia Searles, Tyrone Middle School; Cynthia Young, Seminole Elementary.

[Last modified: Tuesday, May 25, 2010 9:26am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours