Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Pasco School Board reorganizes



The Pasco County School Board bid farewell to retiring member Frank Parker, who attended Tuesday's meeting long enough to approve the minutes and accept a recognition plaque. Then after swearing in newly elected members Cynthia Armstrong, Alison Crumbley and Steve Luikart, the board chose its leaders for the next year.

Allen Altman, chairman for the past year, quickly nominated Joanne Hurley to take the chairmanship. She was supported unanimously.

Armstrong next nominated Altman to serve as vice chairman. He shook his head and smiled, saying he would vote against himself. But he took the position, then switching seats with Hurley "with great pleasure."

Board members next began discussing committee assignments.

[Last modified: Tuesday, November 16, 2010 6:33pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours