Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Pinellas Outstanding Educator semifinalists named



A dozen Pinellas County teachers have been chosen from an initial pool of more than 75 as this year's Outstanding Educator of the Year semifinalists. They are:

  • Jennifer Anderson, East Lake High School
  • William Barlow, James B. Sanderlin IB World School (K-8)
  • Michelle Brennan, Safety Harbor Elementary
  • Becky Bride, Palm Harbor University High School
  • James Gill, Seminole Vocational Education Center
  • Christine Joseph, Skycrest Elementary School
  • Krista Kelleher, Sawgrass Lake Elementary School
  • Jennifer Klimis, Tarpon Springs Fundamental Elementary School
  • Debra Maccini, Douglas L. Jamerson Elementary School
  • Daniel Regan, Pinellas Park High School
  • Jean Wark, Perkins Elementary School
  • Joanne Wright, Safety Harbor Middle School

The finalists will be announced in January, with the winner named on Feb. 25.

"It’s always a great pleasure to celebrate the accomplishments of the dedicated professionals who have committed their lives to educating our children," superintendent Mike Grego said in a news release. "This year’s Outstanding Educator semifinalists are truly representative of all those who strive day in and day out to deliver their best. I offer them my heartfelt congratulations and thanks for all they do."

The district also announced Support Employee of the Year semifinalists on Wednesday. They are:

Direct Involvement

  • Aymarah Benz, Bauder Elementary, ESE Associate
  • Lori Gooding, Dunedin Elementary, ESE Associate
  • Gregory Hinton, Lakewood High, Campus Monitor
  • Amy Putnam, Cypress Woods Elementary, High Needs Associate
  • Sandra Sumner, Shore Acres Elementary, ESE Associate
  • Irma Vargas, Skycrest Elementary, Bilingual Assistant I
  • Kathy Weller, Blanton Elementary, Title I Paraprofessional

Indirect Involvement

  • Tameaka Brown, Gibbs High, Office Clerk I
  • Mary Heldt, East Lake High, Senior Data Technician
  • Anita Herman, Frontier Elementary, Secretary/Bookkeeper
  • Cassandra Holt, James B. Sanderlin PK-8 IB World School, Secretary/Bookkeeper
  • Melodie Moreno, Leila G. Davis Elementary, Family & Community Liaison
  • Essie Sneed, Tomlinson Adult Learning Center, Secretary/Bookkeeper 
  • Debra Stotts, Largo Middle, Office Clerk I

Limited Involvement

  • Patrick Curry, Melrose Elementary, Head Plant Operator
  • Katherine Dickinson, Curlew Creek Elementary, Secretary/Bookkeeper
  • Jeffrey Frey, Walter Pownall Service Center, Carpenter Journeyman
  • Kristy Hayes, Ponce de Leon Elementary, Secretary/Bookkeeper
  • Hilda Henley, Administration Building, Secretary to Assistant Superintendent
  • Lisa Packard, Administration Building, Clerk Specialist I
  • Jerry Reynolds, Countryside High, Head Plant Operator

The winner will be named on Jan. 18.

[Last modified: Wednesday, November 14, 2012 1:22pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours