Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

School choice opens for Pasco students



Pasco County families looking to transfer schools within the district for 2013-14 have one month, beginning today, to submit their applications. Students from other counties seeking to enter a Pasco public school also can apply, but they must submit a release from their home county along with the paperwork.

This year, 20 schools are not available to attend if you live outside the zone, because they are already full. They are: Anclote, Oakstead, Chasco, Pine View, Connerton, Sand Pine, Cypress, Seven Oaks, Double Branch, Moon Lake, Veterans, Hudson, Wesley Chapel, West Zephyrhills and Woodland elementary schools; T. E. Weightman and Dr. John Long middle schools; and J. W. Mitchell, Land O’Lakes and Wiregrass Ranch high schools.

Students who participate in the district's open choice program must provide their own transportation. Officials recommend you review all the guidelines before applying. See also the district FAQ for added details. Applications are completed online only

[Last modified: Friday, February 1, 2013 1:03pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours