Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Six Hillsborough schools will get new principals, and some could lose theirs



Just in time for the holidays, six Hillsborough County schools will get new principals on Tuesday.

The school district, which has promoted some of its best principals into coaching positions under the grant-funded Principal Pipeline, will replace Julie Scardino of Edison Elementary School; Odalys Pritchard of Adams Middle School; Larry Sykes of Lockhart Elementary Magnet School; Lisa Maltezos of Claywell Elementary School; Shaylia McRae of Martinez Middle School; and Sharon Morris of East Bay High School.

Their replacements are to be named at Tuesday afternoon's school board meeting.

While some could be promoted from the ranks of assistant principal, others could create more vacancies.

Stay tuned.

[Last modified: Wednesday, December 7, 2011 6:14pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours