Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

STAR update



It wasn't quite the tidal wave that the teachers union wanted. But in the end, 22 of Florida's 67 school districts either ignored the midnight March 1 deadline to submit a Special Teachers Are Rewarded plan to the state, or they outright voted not to participate in the program as designed by the DOE. Here's the list of who's in and who's out. Unless the rules change, the State Board of Education will vote on the submitted plans on March 20, and the department will announce how the $147.5-million set aside for teacher performance pay will be divided by April 1. "The Legislature is the only one with authority to change that," DOE spokeswoman Cathy Schroeder said. And that's exactly the plan, Rep. David Simmons, who chairs the House Committee on 21st Century Competitiveness, told the Gradebook. "The expectation is that we are going to extend the deadline," Simmons said. "In doing that, we want to make the legislation more user-friendly, one that will enhance collaboration among teachers but will ensure that those who are high performers are rewarded." What about the counties that missed the deadline? "My recommendation to them is, sharpen their pencils and get prepared to work on an equitable program so they can share in the $147.5-million that's being distributed."

[Last modified: Tuesday, May 25, 2010 9:14am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours