Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Tampa Bay districts headed to national labor-relations meeting



TAMPA -- True to their word, federal Department of Education officials have invited the Hillsborough County school district to play a starring role next month in Denver at a national conference on district-union relations.

Hillsborough will be among 13 districts chosen to present their experiences collaborating with teachers unions. Other districts on the dais include New Haven, Conn.; Baltimore; Montgomery County, MD.; and the District of Columbia, presumably for the reforms negotiated by former chancellor Michelle Rhee.

And both Pinellas and Pasco are among 150 districts, 10 of them from Florida, that were chosen by lottery to attend the conference. To qualify, they had to pledge to send representatives from both labor and management, and pledge to launch collaborative reform efforts to boost student achievement.

“The leaders from these 150 districts are committed to bold reforms and are showing the country what is possible when adults come together, particularly in tough times, to do the right thing for kids,” federal Secretary of Education Arne Duncan said in a statement.

He announced the conference during an October visit to Rampello Downtown Partnership School in Tampa. The event, which is being funded by the Ford Foundation, is co-sponsored by the American Federation of Teachers, National Education Association, National School Boards Association, American Association of School Administrators, Council of the Great City Schools, and the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service.

Duncan has repeatedly said he believes the nation is at a "tipping point," with more and more districts and unions choosing to work together on the sorts of reforms he favors. (For the record, Google finds 22,400 such references under his name.) Others say it's wishful thinking. What do you think?

Here's the DOE's invitation list:


State   District
AK      Chuguch
AR      Little Rock School District
AZ      Amphitheater USD
AZ      Deer Valley Unified School District
CA      Fresno Unified
CA      Lindsay Unified School District
CA      Monterey Peninsula Unified
CA      Pomona Unified
CA      Ravenswood City School District
CA      San Juan Unified School District
CA      Twin Rivers Unified School District
CO      Adams 14
CO      Colorado Springs School District
CO      Jefferson County Public Schools
CT      Consolidated School District of New Britain
CT      Stamford Public Schools
DE      Caesar Rodney School District
DE      Delmar School District
FL      Charlotte
FL      District School Board Pasco County
FL      Duval County Public Schools
FL      Miami-Dade
FL      Orange County
FL      Pinellas
FL      School Board of Lake County
FL      Seminole County
FL      Sumter District Schools
FL      Volusia County Schools
GA      Gainesville City Schools
HI      Hawaii State Department of Education
IA      Des Moines Public Schools
IA      Marshalltown Community School District
IL      DePue USD #103
IL      Thornton Township High School District 205
IN      Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation
IN      School City of Hammond
IN      South Bend Community School Corporation
KS      Topeka Public Schools
KY      Boone County
LA      St. Helena
MA      Barnstable Public Schools
MA      Boston Public Schools
MA      Dennis-Yarmouth Reg. School District
MA      Fall River Public Schools
MA      Quaboag Regional School District
MA      Springfield Public Schools
MA      Swampscott
MA      Wakefield Public Schools
MA      West Springfield
MA      Worcester Public Schools
MD      Allegany County
MD      Anne Arundel County Public Schools
MD      Prince George's County Public Schools
MD      Wicomico County Public Schools
ME      MSAD #61
ME      MSAD #74
ME      RSU #12
MI      Adrian Public Schools
MI      Clintondale Community Schools
MI      Mount Clemens Community School District
MN      Minneapolis Public Schools
MN      Red Lake School District 38
MO      Benjamin Banneker Charter
MO      Ferguson-Florissant
MO      Normandy School District
MO      St. Louis Public Schools
MT      Lodge Grass Public School
NC      Gaston County Schools
NC      Madison County
ND      Mandaree #36
ND      West Fargo Public School District #6
NM      Albuquerque Public Schools
NM      Santa Fe Public Schools
NM      Socorro Consolidated Schools
NV      Clark County School District
NV      Washoe County
NY      Amityville Union Free School District
NY      Avoca
NY      Beaver River Central School District
NY      Bedford Central School District
NY      Buffalo City School District
NY      Cattaraugus-Little Valley CSD
NY      Cobleskill-Richmondville CSD
NY      Cortland Enlarged City School District
NY      Dobbs Ferry Union Free School District
NY      Fort Ann Central School District
NY      Geneseo Central School District
NY      Grand Island Central School District
NY      Greenburgh-Graham UFSD
NY      Harrison Central School District
NY      Hauppauge SD
NY      Hilton Central School District
NY      Holland Patent Central Schools
NY      Islip Union Free School District
NY      Ithaca City School District
NY      Kenmore-Town of Tonawanda Union Free School District
NY      Lyncourt Union Free School District
NY      Mount Pleasant Central School District
NY      New Lebanon CSD
NY      New Paltz Central School District
NY      New York City
NY      Norwood Norfolk Central School
NY      Sackets Harbor Central School
NY      Saranac Central School District
NY      Saranac Lake Central School
NY      Solvay Union Free School District
NY      Spackenkill UPSD
NY      Spencer-Van Etten CSD
NY      Syracuse City School District
NY      Watkins Glen Central School District
NY      Webster Central School District
OH      ADA Exempted Village School District
OH      Akron City
OH      Cincinnati City
OH      Cleveland Heights-University Heights
OH      Cleveland Municipal School District
OH      Columbus City Schools
OH      Coventry Local Schools
OH      Eastern Local School District
OH      Fairfield City School District
OH      Lorain City Schools
OH      Sandusky City Schools
OH      Toledo
OH      Tri-Valley Local Schools
OK      Crutcho
OK      Oklahoma City Public Schools
OR      Beaverton School District
OR      Ontario SD 8C
OR      Portland Public Schools
OR      Salem-Keizer
PA      Duquesne City School District
PA      Philadelphia
PA      Southeast Delco School District
PA      William Penn School District
RI      Cranston Public Schools
RI      Providence
RI      Tiverton School Department
RI      Woonsocket Education Department
SC      Spartanburg School District 7
SD      Wagner Community School
TN      Hamilton County Department of Education
TN      Marion County
TN      Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools
UT      Salt Lake City School District
VA      Westmoreland County Public Schools
VT      Lamoille North Supervisory Union
VT      Morristown School District
VT      St. Johnsbury
VT      Windsor Southwest
WV      Hampshire


CA      ABC Unified
CA      Green Dot Charter
CO      Denver County School District
CO      Douglas County
CT      New Haven
DC      District of Columbia
FL      Hillsborough
MD      Baltimore City Public Schools
MD      Montgomery County
MN      Saint Francis
MT      Helena
NC      Forsyth County
NY      Plattsburgh



[Last modified: Tuesday, January 25, 2011 7:44pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours