Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Who are the leaders of the year?



Tonight the state will name its principal and assistant principal achievement award winners for outstanding leadership. The program "honors principals that have spearheaded initiatives to increase student performance, promote safe learning environments and establish partnerships with parents and community members."

Each district can nominate one person for each category. The finalists for the principal award, selected from a group of district winners, are:

  • Judith Winch, Westside Elementary, Volusia
  • Douglas Rodriguez, Ronald Reagan/Doral Senior High, Miami-Dade
  • Elizabeth Wierda, Cunningham Creek Elementary, St. John's

The finalists for the assistant principal award, also chosen from a group of district winners, are:

  • Julia Clemons, Key Largo School, Monroe
  • Kelly Baysura, Fellsmere Elementary School, Indian River
  • Jennifer Avellino, Parkway Elementary School, St. Lucie
  • Stephanie Soliven, Cocoa High School, Brevard

Look for the winners tomorrow.


[Last modified: Tuesday, May 25, 2010 10:01am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours