Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Pinellas names its outstanding volunteers for 2013/14



Pinellas County Schools has named its outstanding school volunteers for the 2013/14 school year. 

District officials selected 15 volunteers out of nearly 24,000 people who give their time to the school system. All of the volunteers have donated about 400,000 hours of service so far this year. A special celebration will be held in April at Feather Sound Country Club in Clearwater to honor the outstanding volunteers. 

At the celebration, the district will announce an overall winner in the youth, adult and senior categories. The finalists will then participate in the state's outstanding volunteer program. 

The 15 volunteers are:

Area I

Youth: Amber Nichole Sonderman – Sunset Hills Elementary Schools. Adult: Deborah Williams – James B. Sanderlin PK–8 IB World School. Senior: Dr. Walter Olson – Sunset Hills Elementary School.

Area II Youth: Hannah Blevins – Gulfport Elementary School. Adult: Jana Mir – Lake St. George Elementary School. Senior: Margaret Melton – Curlew Creek Elementary School.

Area III Youth: Megan Trout – Nina Harris Exceptional Student Education Center. Adult: Debi Fiegle – Curtis Fundamental Elementary School. Senior: Larisa Komarow - Seminole High School.

Area IV Youth: Michael Atanasio – Morgan Fitzgerald Middle School. Adult: Brian Wilkes – Clearwater High School. Senior: Linda Jordan Mize – John M. Sexton Elementary School.

Workforce Development Youth: Sydney Ann Reitz – Gus A. Stavros Institute. Adult: Michael Laskey – Palm Harbor Community School. Senior: Gretchen Alice Ackerson – Gus A. Stavros Institute.

[Last modified: Friday, February 7, 2014 11:34am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours