Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Support employee of the year finalists named in Pinellas



Nine employees have been named finalists for this year's Support Employee of the Year in Pinellas County Schools. They were selected from 79 nominees.

Finalists were chosen in three categories, including "direct involvement with students," "indirect involvement with students," and "limited involvement with students." There were three finalists in each category. After another round of judging, a winner will be selected for each category. There also will be an overall winner.

The winners will be named on Jan. 17 at the Feather Sound Country Club. The overall winner will represent Pinellas County Schools at the state Department of Education School-Related Employee of the year program.

The finalists include:

Direct Involvement

Kerry Afflitto, Bayside High School, Clerk II

Mary MacEwen, 74th Street Elementary, Teacher Assistant

Renee St. Onge, Brooker Creek Elementary, ESE Associate

Indirect Involvement

Cathlene Burcham, Career Academies of Seminole, Data Management Technician

Sandra Frazier, Paul B. Stephens Exceptional Education Center, Cafeteria Manager

Reginald Rhett, Morgan Fitzgerald Middle, Clerk I

Limited Involvement

Karen Barnett, Dunedin Elementary, Family and Community Liaison

Donna Crosby, PreK-12 Performing Arts, Secretary II

Carol Syvrud, Forest Lakes Elementary, Transcriber Assistant Visually Impaired 

[Last modified: Friday, October 25, 2013 1:00pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours