Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

Teacher of the year finalists named in Pinellas



Pinellas County Schools has announced 10 finalists for the annual teacher of the year award. The finalists were surprised in their classrooms this week by officials from the school district and the Pinellas Education Foundation.

Finalists include:

Sarah Borchardt, a fifth-grade gifted, ESOL and inclusion teacher at Starkey Elementary.

Susan Carney, a Kindergarten teacher at Ozona Elementary.

Melissa Colgan, a Supported Varying Exceptionalities (SVE) teacher at Largo Middle.

Kevin Ford, a band director, and founder of the Leadership Conservatory for the Arts at Tarpon Springs High School.

Diana Harper, a fourth-grade teacher at Dunedin Elementary.

Stephanie Martanovic, a seventh-grade Civics teacher at Safety Harbor Middle.

Tracey Raecek, an Algebra teacher at Osceola Fundamental High.

Monica Taylor, a media specialist at Woodlawn Elementary.

Gisela Torres, a Spanish teacher for the International Baccalaureate program at St. Petersburg High.

Robert Sinibaldi, an adapted Physical Education teacher for students with special needs at Walsingham Elementary.

There were 80 nominations this year for the honor. A panel of judges made the selections. Finalists now will go through an interview and a second round of scoring by a different set of judges.

The winner of teacher of the year will be announced during the annual Evening of Excellence on Feb. 18 at the Mahaffey Theater in St. Petersburg. 

Sponors of the event include: Suncoast Schools Federal Credit Union, Horace Mann Insurance, Clear Channel Outdoor, the Times, NOVA Southeastern University, KPMG, Bright House Networks, Ajax Building Corporation, Catalina Marketing and the Junior League.

[Last modified: Thursday, December 12, 2013 9:50am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours