Make us your home page

Prep Sports Report

Bob Putnam, Rodney Page, Kelly Parsons

District wrestling: Depth puts Robinson on top



TAMPA — Host Jesuit had six finalists in Saturday’s Class 2A, District 8 tournament and came away with four champions. That impressive outing, however, was not enough to prevent Robinson from winning the title.

Jesuit, which had won nine of the past 10 district tourneys, finished as the runnerup with 159.5 points. Robinson, which totaled 194.5, won its first district crown since 2013. Robinson also won a district title in 2009 and was a runnerup in 2011 and 2012.

Land O’Lakes, which tied Jesuit with four individual champions, placed third at 146.5.

Depth was a key for the Knights, who matched the Tigers with six finalists and earned points in all 14 weight classes.

“The first two rounds we went up there pinning people,” Robinson coach Tom Montero said. “I think it played a factor in having a full lineup.”

Robinson’s lone championship came in the 220-pound final with Devin Jandura earning a 12-1 major decision against Jefferson’s Vaughn Williams. Robinson’s other finalists were Isaac Guillermo (106), Josian Casianos (126), Cody Davidson (152), Deshawn Weathers (170) and Jaquan Jackson (182).

Jesuit had four division winners in William McGill (113), Matt Daner (126), Patrick Eberly (170) and Eli Davenport (195). The other finalists for the Tigers were Ethan Basile (132) and Miguel Coste (138).

All four Land O’ Lakes wrestlers in the championship round won. That group included Jarrett Kinney (120), Troy Nation (132), Jacob Conrad (138) and Josh Spears (152).

Other individual winners were: Jordan King (106), Chamberlain; Angel Morales (145), Blake; Dudane Anderson (160), Leto; Brad Bolesta (182), Gaither; and Jesus Gonzalez (285), Jefferson.

[Last modified: Sunday, February 19, 2017 1:37pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours