Make us your home page

Prep Sports Report

Bob Putnam, Rodney Page, Kelly Parsons

District wrestling: Jesuit clinches 2A-8 crown



TAMPA – The Jesuit wrestling team saw five wrestlers fight to a first place-finish Saturday, on their way to the Class 2A, District 8 championship. The Tigers tallied up a total of 184.5 points throughout the tournament; Lennard accumulated 154.5 points to claim second while Robinson rounded out the top three with 123.5.

“Overall it was a good performance on the day, a team effort,” said Tigers coach Sal Basile. “Taking the district championship home today kind of relieves some pressure of the postseason because it’s the first step towards a push to states. Winning today and building confidence will definitely help us as we play out the remainder of the season.” 

Matthew Daner (120 pounds) brought home the first championship for the Tigers after he was able to squeeze the cradle tight for a quick 56-second pin. Angel Dominguez (138) started a run for Jesuit after a last-second win as Adam Lewis (145) and Julian Ramirez (152) won the next two championship matches. 

This was the fourth straight district championship for senior Lewis, who is excited to defend his state championship from last year. “Really good feeling. Being that I’m a senior, I’m really taking everything in and appreciating it more.” Ramirez will also be defending a state championship as the freshman took home a state title as an eighth-grader last season.

Brian Buser (182) rounded out Jesuit’s district champions as he will look to claim his first state title as he came ever so close last year, taking second place.

Other first-place champions of the day included 106-pounder Brenda Santos, who was the only female wrestler to advance to regionals in this district. “First place meant a lot to me today, especially being I was the runnerup last year,” said Santos. “It makes me feel like I really earned a trip to regionals and a shot at my goal of states.”

For Lennard, Hunter Lefevre (113), David Kirk (132) and Rowdy Driggers (285) took home first place. Others champions included Michael Brock (126, Robinson), Demond Curry (160, Chamberlain), Brad Bolestra (170, Gaither), Ronnie Estep (195, Sunlake) and Eli Capshaw (220, Land O’Lakes).

[Last modified: Saturday, February 20, 2016 11:38pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours