Make us your home page

Former Lightning player Dino Ciccarelli is in the Hall of Fame, Dave Andreychuk isn't



The NHL Hall of Fame announced on Tuesday that former Lightning player Dino Ciccarelli, Cammi Granato and Angela James were elected to the Hall in the player category.  Former Lightning captain Dave Andreychuk and Lightning assistant coach Adam Oates were not elected.

"I'm very excited," Ciccarelli said on a conference call. "You get emotional thinking about this. It makes you feel like a kid again."

Ciccarelli had 608 goals in his career, and while he had only 46 for the Lightning from 1996-98, he had a loyal following.

Here is the announcement from the Hall of Fame:

Bill Hay, Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors, Jim Gregory and Pat Quinn, Co-Chairmen of the Hockey Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee, announced today that Dino Ciccarelli, Cammi Granato and Angela James have been elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in the Player Category.  In the Builder Category, Jimmy Devellano and the late Daryl “Doc” Seaman was elected.  The vote took place today at the annual meeting of the Selection Committee in Toronto.

“The Hockey Hall of Fame is proud to welcome these five hockey legends as Honoured Members,” said Jim Gregory.  “Their contributions to the game of hockey are well documented and their election to the Hockey Hall of Fame is richly deserved.”

A native of Sarnia, Ontario, Dino Ciccarelli played four seasons for the London Knights setting a team record for goals with 72 in 1977-78.  An undrafted free agent, he made his debut with the Minnesota North Stars in 1980-81, played nine seasons with the Stars, leading the team in scoring five times.  Overall, he played 19 NHL seasons with five teams recording 608 goals and 592 assists in 1,232 games played.

“This is a tremendous honour that I will cherish for the rest of my life,” said Ciccarelli.  “I really appreciate the support of my coaches, the fans and mostly importantly my family throughout my 19 year career.”

Cammi Granato was ECAC Player of the Year three consecutive seasons from 1991-93, while playing for Providence College.  She then played in Canada for the Concordia Stingers, helping that team to three Quebec titles.  Granato was also a 15-year member of the U.S. Women’s National Team beginning in 1990 and led Team USA to the gold medal in the 1998 Winter Olympics.

“I dreamed of being in the NHL my entire life and this certainly makes up for those dreams,” said Granato.  “Being amongst the first women to play at college and later at the Olympics, it certainly was worthwhile being a hockey pioneer”.

Toronto native Angela James starred in the 1970’s and early 1980’s in the Central Ontario Women’s League and was the league’s leading scorer for eight seasons and MVP on six occasions.  A medalist in 12 National Championships, she was MVP in eight of them.  Angela has also won four world championship gold medals (1990, 1992, 1994 and 1997).

“On behalf of everyone in women’s hockey, I am truly honoured,” said James.  “As a kid I went to the Hall and was in awe of those who had been inducted.  I am delighted to to be able to join them.”

In the Builder Category, long-time Detroit Red Wings executive, Jim Devellano and posthumously a founding owner of the Calgary Flames, Daryl “Doc” Seaman were honoured.

“I’d like to thank the Selection Committee for naming me,” said Devellano.  “This game is all about the people and since Lynn Patrick gave me my first break I’ve been fortunate to be associated with great people.”

The 2010 Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 8, 2010 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.   For more information regarding the 2010 Induction Weekend/Celebration, visit   

[Last modified: Thursday, July 22, 2010 12:15am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours