Nate Thompson alternate captain for U.S. team at worlds

Lightning center Nate Thompson was named an alternate captain for the United States at the world championship, which begins Friday in Helsinki, Finland, and Stockholm, Sweden.

Blue Jackets defenseman Jack Johnson, a member of the silver-medal-winning 2010 Olympic team, was named captain, and Jets center Jim Slater was named the other alternate captain.

The United States, which also includes Lightning forward J.T. Brown, opens play today against France. Canada, which has Lightning forward Teddy Purcell, begins against Slovakia, and Sweden, with Lightning defenseman Victor Hedman, faces Norway.

 

The NBC Sports Network will televise games with the United States and the medal games. The schedule, from USA Hockey:

 

Fri., May 4 France 5:15 a.m.
Game Notes
Live Game Blog
NBC Sports Network (Live)
Sat., May 5 Canada 12:00 p.m. NBC Sports Network (Delay/7:30 p.m. ET)
Mon., May 7 Slovakia 1:15 p.m. NBC Sports Network (Live)
Thurs., May 10 Belarus 9:15 a.m. NBC Sports Network (Live)
Fri., May 11 Kazakhstan 9:15 a.m. NBC Sports Network (Live)
Sun., May 13 Finland 9:15 a.m. NBC Sports Network (Live)
Tues., May 15 Switzerland 1:15 p.m. NBC Sports Network (Live)
Thurs., May 17 Quarterfinals TBD NBC Sports Network (Live)
Sat., May 19 Semifinals TBD NBC Sports Network (Live)
Sun., May 20 Bronze-Medal Game 9:00 a.m. NBC Sports Network (Live)
  Gold-Medal Game 1:30 p.m. NBC Sports Network (Delay/9 p.m. ET)

[Last modified: Friday, May 4, 2012 12:43am]

    

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

Loading...