Make us your home page

NHL approves realignment



The NHL on Monday approved a radical realignment of its teams that took about an hour of debate and discussion, commissioner Gary Bettman told reporters in Pebble Beach, Calif., where the Board of Governorts meeting took place.

There will be four "conferences." Two will have eight teams, two will have seven. The top four teams in each conference will make the playoffs. In the playoffs, there will be two rounds in each division (1-4, 2-3) to determine the four semifinalists.

The realignment still must be approved by the NHL Players Association.

Here are the conferences:

Lightning, Bruins, Sabres, Canadiens, Panthers, Senators and Maple Leafs.

Penguins, Flyers, Rangers, Islanders, Devils, Hurricanes, Washington.

Ducks, Kings, Sharks, Coyotes, Canucks, Flames, Oilers, Avalanche.

Stars, Blues, Blackhawks, Wild, Jets, Predators, Red Wings, Blue Jackets.

[Last modified: Wednesday, January 4, 2012 12:29am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours