Make us your home page

NHL Awards



In case you were wondering, Versus, which was supposed to show the NHL Awards Show live, decided to put it on tape delay and show it at 11. At least that is what the crawl on the screen said.

The Lightning did not get any hardware, as it turned out. Vinny Lecavalier, up for the Pearson Award as the game's most outstanding player as voted by the players, lost out to Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby. Marty St. Louis finished second to Detroit's Pavel Datsyuk for the Lady Byng, awarded for sportsmanship by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Lecavalier, defenseman Dan Boyle and right wing Marty St. Louis were named to the second team.   

In case you missed them, here were the awards:

Hart (MVP): Sidney Crosby

Vezina (goaltender): Martin Brodeur

Adams (coach): Alain Vigneault, Canucks

Selke (defensive forward): Rod Brind'Amour

Masterton (dedication to hockey): Phil Kessel

Calder (rookie): Evgeni Malkin

Norris (defenseman): Nicklas Lidstrom

First-team All-Stars: Crosby, Alex Ovechkin, Dany Heatley, Lidstrom and Scott Niedermayer. 

[Last modified: Sunday, August 16, 2009 4:37pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours