Make us your home page

Our awards ballot

If you're a subscriber to the newspaper you've already seen this list, but we're aware not everyone on here gets the paper. Damian is a member of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association. As such, he has a ballot in the various NHL awards and honors voting. This is a look at his ballot, which had to be turned in after the conclusion of the regular season but before the start of the postseason.
Hart Trophy, MVP
1. Alex Ovechkin, Capitals
2. Evgeni Malkin, Penguins
3. Martin Brodeur, Devils
4. Jarome Iginla, Flames
5. Evgeni Nabokov, Sharks
Norris Trophy
Best defenseman
1. Dion Phaneuf, Flames
2. Nicklas Lidstrom,
Red Wings
3. Zdeno Chara, Bruins
4. Brian Campbell, Sharks
5. Sergei Gonchar, Penguins
Calder Trophy
Top rookie
1. Tobias Enstrom, Thrashers
2. Patrick Kane, Blackhawks
3. Nicklas Backstrom,
4. Peter Mueller, Coyotes
5. Carey Price, Canadiens
Lady Byng Trophy Sportsmanship
and gentlemanly
1. Pavel Datsyuk, Red Wings
2. Paul Stastny, Avalanche
3. Daymond Langkow, Flames
4. Brad Boyes, Blues
5. Brad Richards, Stars
Selke Trophy
Best defensive
1. Pavel Datsyuk, Red Wings
2. P.J. Axelsson, Bruins
3. Henrik Zetterberg,
Red Wings
4. John Madden, Devils
5. Eric Perrin, Thrashers
All-Star team
Center: Evgeni Malkin, Penguins; Joe Thornton, Sharks; Pavel Datsyuk, Red Wings
Right wing: Jarome Iginla, Flames; Daniel Alfredsson, Senators; Marian Gaborik, Wild
Left wing: Alex Ovechkin, Capitals; Henrik Zetterberg, Red Wings; Rick Nash,
Blue Jackets
Defense: Dion Phaneuf, Flames; Nicklas Lidstrom, Red Wings; Zdeno Chara, Bruins; Brian Campbell, Sharks; Sergei Gonchar, Penguins; Scott Niedermayer, Ducks
Goalie: Evgeni Nabokov, Sharks; Martin Brodeur, Devils; Henrik Lundqvist, Rangers
All-Rookie team
Forward: Patrick Kane, Blackhawks; Peter Mueller, Coyotes; Nicklas Backstrom, Capitals
Defense: Tobias Enstrom, Thrashers; Tom Gilbert, Oilers
Goalie: Carey Price, Canadiens

[Last modified: Sunday, August 16, 2009 4:38pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours