Make us your home page

Stamkos among finalists for Lindsay Award

Tampa Bay Lightning forward Steven Stamkos is one of three finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the NHL's most outstanding player in the minds of the players. Pittsburgh Penguins center Evgeni Malkin and New York Rangers goaltender Henrik Lundqvist are the other finalists. Here is the official release: NHLPA ANNOUNCES FINALISTS FOR 2011-12 TED LINDSAY AWARD Lundqvist, Malkin, & Stamkos voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players’ Association as finalists for the “Most Outstanding Player” award …First-time Ted Lindsay Award recipient will be named for 2011-12 TORONTO (May 2, 2012) – The National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) announced today that Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers, Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning have been selected as finalists for the 2011-12 Ted Lindsay Award. The Ted Lindsay Award is presented annually to the “Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA. The Ted Lindsay Award is the only award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award since 1970-71. The Award honours Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original Players' Association. This year’s group of finalists – Lundqvist, Malkin and Stamkos – ensures that there will be a first-time recipient named when the Ted Lindsay Award is presented at the 2012 NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 20th. The following players are finalists for the 2012 Ted Lindsay Award (in alphabetical order): Henrik Lundqvist, of Are, Sweden, appeared in 62 games during the 2011-12 season, leading the New York Rangers to their best regular season record since 1993-94. He set career-best marks in save percentage (.930) and goals-against average (1.97), ranking fourth in both categories. Henrik also set a career-high in wins (39), finishing third in the category, and tied for third among goaltenders in shutouts (8). He is the only goaltender in NHL history to record at least 30 wins in each of his first seven seasons. This is Henrik’s first nomination as a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award. The four-time Vezina Trophy nominee would become just the third goaltender to receive the “Most Outstanding Player” award as voted on by the players, joining Mike Liut (1980-81) and Dominik Hasek (1996-97, 1997-98), and he is the first goaltender to be nominated since Roberto Luongo was a finalist (2006-07). Evgeni Malkin, of Magnitogorsk, Russia appeared in 75 games for the Pittsburgh Penguins in the 2011-12 season. Evgeni led all NHL players in regular season scoring (109 points) to earn his second Art Ross Trophy (2008-09). He finished with more than 100 points in a season for the third time in his career, while finishing third in assists (59) and second in goals (a career-high 50). He also led the league in shots (339) and tied for fourth in game-winning goals (9). This is Evgeni’s third nomination by his peers as a finalist for the “Most Outstanding Player” award (2007-08, 2008-09). The former Calder Trophy recipient (2006-07) would become the fourth Penguins player to receive the “Most Outstanding Player” award as voted on by the players, following Mario Lemieux (1985-86, 1987-88, 1992-93, 1995-96), Jaromir Jagr (1998-99, 1999-00, 2005-06) and Sidney Crosby (2006-07). Steven Stamkos, of Markham, Ontario, appeared in all 82 games in the 2011-12 season with the Tampa Bay Lightning, for the third consecutive season. For the second time in his young career, Steven led the league in goals (60) to earn the Maurice Richard Trophy, becoming only the 19th player in NHL history to record 60 goals in a season. He also finished second in points (97), tied for first with Radim Vrbata for most game-winning goals (12), and scored the most overtime-winning goals (5) – an NHL record. This is Steven’s second consecutive nomination by his peers as a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award (2010-11). He would become only the second member of the Lightning to receive the “Most Outstanding Player” award as voted on by the players, joining teammate Martin St. Louis (2003-04). The NHLPA also launched the 2011-12 Ted Lindsay Award Contest today on Fans are encouraged to select the Ted Lindsay Award recipient, just like the players do. A random draw will take place following the 2012 NHL Awards in Las Vegas NV, to determine the Grand Prize winner, as well as the second and third-place finishers. Fans and media are encouraged to visit for further information on the Ted Lindsay Award, finalist profiles and contest information. “Most Outstanding Player” Award Recipients: Lester B. Pearson Award 1983-84 Wayne Gretzky 1997-98 Dominik Hasek 1970-71 Phil Esposito 1984-85 Wayne Gretzky 1998-99 Jaromir Jagr 1971-72 Jean Ratelle 1985-86 Mario Lemieux 1999-00 Jaromir Jagr 1972-73 Bobby Clarke 1986-87 Wayne Gretzky 2000-01 Joe Sakic 1973-74 Phil Esposito 1987-88 Mario Lemieux 2001-02 Jarome Iginla 1974-75 Bobby Orr 1988-89 Steve Yzerman 2002-03 Markus Naslund 1975-76 Guy Lafleur 1989-90 Mark Messier 2003-04 Martin St. Louis 1976-77 Guy Lafleur 1990-91 Brett Hull 2005-06 Jaromir Jagr 1977-78 Guy Lafleur 1991-92 Mark Messier 2006-07 Sidney Crosby 1978-79 Marcel Dionne 1992-93 Mario Lemieux 2007-08 Alexander Ovechkin 1979-80 Marcel Dionne 1993-94 Sergei Fedorov 2008-09 Alexander Ovechkin 1980-81 Mike Liut 1994-95 Eric Lindros Ted Lindsay Award 1981-82 Wayne Gretzky 1995-96 Mario Lemieux 2009-10 Alexander Ovechkin 1982-83 Wayne Gretzky 1996-97 Dominik Hasek 2010-11 Daniel Sedin

[Last modified: Wednesday, May 2, 2012 2:24pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours