Make us your home page

Tampa Bay Lightning assigns 18 players, including Brett Connolly, to AHL Syracuse



The Lightning, ahead of the expected NHL lockout on Sunday, assigned 18 players to AHL Syracuse, including Brett Connolly, who last season played 68 games for Tampa Bay, and J.T Brown, the highly touted wing signed last season from Minnesota-Duluth. All assigned players did not have to clear waivers to be sent down.

In the cases of Connolly and Brown, the moves clearly keep them playing so they can continue developing.

Put on waivers was forward J.T. Wyman. That was done, Lightning assistant general manager Julien BriseBois said, because of an AHL rule that players who did not finish a previous season with an AHL club and were not on a Clear Day (playoff-eligible) list, must pass through waivers to be assigned to an AHL team.

Assigned to the Crunch: Forwards -- Connolly, Brown, Cory Conacher, Danick Gauthier, Alex Hutchings, Tyler Johnson, Alexander Killorn, Vladislav Namestnikov, Ondrej Palat, Richard Panik. Defensemen -- Mark Barberio, Radko Gudas, Dmitry Korobov, Charles Landry, Dan Milan. Goaltenders -- Riku Helenius, Pat Nagle, Dustin Tokarski.

In addition, BriseBois said "the hope is" forwards Mike Angelidis and Pierre-Cedric Labrie, and defensemen Keith Aulie, Evan Oberg and Matt Taormina, will be signed to minor league contracts to avoid passing them through waivers on their way to Syracuse.

[Last modified: Friday, September 14, 2012 12:40pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours