Make us your home page

Tampa Bay Lightning RW Marty St. Louis second in Lady Byng voting



Red Wings star Pavel Datsyuk won the Lady Byng Trophy, given for sportsmanship with a high level of play. Tampa Bay Lightning right wing Marty St. Louis was second. It wasn't very close.

In a vote by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, Datsyuk had 933 points with 64 first-place votes and 35 second. St. Louis had 662 points with 30 first-place votes and 20 second.

Steven Stamkos was ninth in voting for the Calder Trophy as the league's top rookie.

The winners: Hart Trophy (MVP by the writers) -- Alex Ovechkin, Capitals; Pearson (MVP by players) -- Alex Ovechkin, Capitals; Calder (top rookie) -- Steve Mason, Blue Jackets; Jack Adams (coach) -- Claude Julien, Bruins; Vezina (goalie) -- Tim Thomas, Bruins; Norris (defensemen) -- Zdeno Chara, Bruins; Selke (defensive forward) -- Pavel Datsyuk, Red Wings;  Masterton (dedication to hockey) -- Steve Sullivan, Predators; NHL Foundation (community service) -- Rick Nash, Blue Jackets; King Clancy (community service) -- Ethan Moreau, Oilers; Mark Messier Leadership (community service) -- Jarome Iginla, Flames.   

[Last modified: Sunday, August 16, 2009 4:38pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours