Make us your home page

Lightning opens training camp Sept. 11, announces partial schedule



The Tampa Bay Lightning will open the franchise’s 21st training camp on Wednesday, September 11 at the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the team announced today.  The team also announced the additional 38 players who will attend, along with those currently participating in the Coral Springs Rookie Tournament.

The camp roster includes a number of familiar faces, including superstars Martin St. Louis and Steven Stamkos, as well as Victor Hedman, Ryan Malone, Teddy Purcell, Matt Carle and more.  Key offseason acquisition Valtteri Filppula will make his Bolts debut and goaltender Ben Bishop, acquired at last season’s trade deadline, will be attending his first Lightning camp.  The Tampa Bay roster is also highlighted by a number of young players expected to compete for regular season positions, including last season’s AHL Most Valuable Player, Tyler Johnson, Brett Connolly, Radko Gudas, Mark Barberio, Richard Panik and Ondrej Palat to name a few.

Of those players invited to camp and not participating in Coral Springs, there are 20 forwards, 14 defensemen and four goaltenders.  All of those players but three, Even Rankin, Drew Olson and Geoff Walker, spent at least some time in the Lightning system last season.  The 62 players will be broken into three practice groups.

Players will begin medical and physical testing at 8 a.m. on September 11.  Players will be available to the media once they have completed their testing and other obligations.  They will hit the ice for the first time on Thursday, September 12 and Friday, September 13 with the following schedule (subject to change):


·         9 a.m. – 10:15 a.m. – Practice


·         10:45 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. – Practice

·         11:30 a.m. – 11:45 a.m. – Flood

·         11:45 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. – Practice


·         1:45 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. – Practice

·         2:30 p.m. – 2:45 p.m. – Flood

·         2:45 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. – Practice

Thursday’s practice is free and open to the public. Friday is closed.  The Lightning will host Fan Fest on Saturday at the Times Forum beginning at 8 a.m.  For more information on the event visit

In addition, the Lightning will practice in Estero, Florida at Germain Arena from Monday, September 23 through Saturday, September 28.  Those practices are also free and open to the public.  Tampa Bay will play a preseason game at Germain against the Florida Panthers on September 26.  They will also play a preseason game in Orlando at the Amway Center on Wednesday, September 18.  Tickets to both games are now on sale. 

2013-14 Training Camp Groups



Aulie, Keith                               Malone, Ryan

                                                Blujus, Dylan                             Mormina, Joey

Connolly, Brett                          Namestnikov, Vladislav

Cote, Jean-Philippe                   Panik, Richard

                                                Desjardins, Cedrick                   Richard, Tanner

                                                Drouin, Jonathan                       Salo, Sami

                                                Erne, Adam                               St. Louis, Marty

                                                Hedman, Victor                         Stamkos, Steven

                                                Johnson, Tyler                          Sustr, Andrej

                                                Labrie, Pierre-Cedric                  Taormina, Matt

                                                Lindback, Anders                      Walker, Geoff





                                                Angelidis, Mike                         Koekkoek, Slater

                                                Barberio, Mark                          Korobov, Dmitry

                                                Bishop, Ben                              Kucherov, Nikita

                                                Brewer, Eric                              Nesterov, Nikita

                                                Brown, JT                                 Palat, Ondrej

                                                Carle, Matt                                Paquette, Cedric

                                                Crombeen, BJ                           Purcell, Teddy

                                               Filppula, Valtteri                                    Pyatt, Tom

                                                Gudas, Radko                           Sergeev, Artem

                                                Helenius, Riku                           Thompson, Nate

                                                Killorn, Alex                              Tyrell, Dana





                                                Brassard, Eric                           Milan, Dan

                                                Brassart, Brady                         Neilson, Eric

                                                Dotchin, Jake                            Nielsen, Carl

                                                Gauthier, Danick                        Olson, Drew

                                                Gudlevskis, Kristers                  Paradis, Philippe

                                                Ikonen, Henri                             Rankin, Evan

                                                Landry, Charles                         Welychka, Brett

                                                Langelier-Parent, Maxime           Witkowski, Luke





*D Mattias Ohlund and D Brian Lee not included due to injury

[Last modified: Friday, September 6, 2013 7:50pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours