Make us your home page

Lightning sets 2013-14 roster



The Lightning set its 23-player roster, keeping 13 forwards, eight defensemen and two goaltenders.

The most interesting developments were sending left wing Jonathan Drouin, the No. 3 overall pick of the dradft, back to Halifax of the junior Quebec league; sending forward Brett Connolly, who tied for the team preseason lead with four goals, to AHL Syracuse; and keeping defenseman Andrej Sustr.

The Syracuse line of center Tyler Johnson, Richard Panik and Ondrej Palat also made it.

Here is the Lightning's opening night roster:

Goaltenders -- Ben Bishop, Anders Lindback.

Defensemen -- Keith Aulie, Mark Barberio, Eric Brewer, Matt Carle, Radko Gudas, Victor Hedman, Brian Lee (injured), Mattias Ohlund (injured), Sami Salo, Andrej Sustr.

Forwards -- B.J. Crombeen, Valtteri Filppula, Tyler Johnson, Alex Killorn, Pierre-Cedric Labrie, Ryan Malone, Ondrej Palat, Richard Panik, Teddy Purcell, Tom Pyatt, Marty St. Louis, Steven Stamkos, Nate Thompson.

Cuts (all assigned to AHL Syracuse unless noted: Mike Angelidis (needs to clear waivers), J.T. Brown, Brett Connolly, J.P. Cote, Jonathan Drouin (Halifax, QMJHL), Kristers Gudlevskis (Florida, ECHL), Dmitry Korobov, Nikita Kucherov, Matt Taormina (needs to clear waivers), Dana Tyrell (needs to clear waivers).

[Last modified: Sunday, September 29, 2013 2:22pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours