Partly Cloudy78° FULL FORECASTPartly Cloudy78° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page

Nesterov to have hearing over hit from behind



Lightning defenseman Nikita Nesterov will have a hearing today with the NHL's department of player safety to determine whether he'll face supplemental discipline for his hit-from-behind on Curtis McKenzie Thursday night.

Nesterov received a five-minute penalty and game misconduct after his hit on McKenzie, who was pushed into the boards. McKenzie was in a vulnerable position, his back turned to Nesterov, and suffered a lower-body injury. Stars coach Lindy Ruff said McKenzie was taken to the hospital and was in "excruciating pain."

Stars center Jason Spezza called it a "pretty dirty hit." When asked, coach Jon Cooper said his opinion was "irrelevant." "It will be judged."

Lightning captain Steven Stamkos said he didn't think Nesterov would intentionally hit McKenzie to hurt him. But the fact McKenzie was in a vulnerable position and was shoved dangerously into the boards, could warrant discipline.

Stay tuned for updates.

[Last modified: Friday, October 16, 2015 11:36am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours