Make us your home page

The Feed

What you're talking about today

Washington Post Wins Six Pulitzers, Bob Dylan Wins One



Overlooked again.E343pulitzerprizebismar

Journalism's highest honor in 2008, the Pulitzer Prizes, were announced today, and once again I must live vicariously through former Times colleague Anne Hull, who won this year with Dana Priest at the Washington Post for her most excellent series exposing the shortcomings at Walter Reed Army Hospital. In all, the Post took home six awards -- its most ever -- including another by a former SP Times alum, Jo Becker, who worked with Bart Gellman to expose the enormous influence (and man-sized safe) of Vice President Dick Cheney. (UPDATE: I've also been informed that Anne's partner Dana Priest was also an SP Times alum from the '80s, which I didn't realize because I wasn't working here then.)

Cheneys600x600 I also seem to remember that the day her Cheney story ran last year, Jo managed the awesome feat of getting a front page byline at the Post, where she used to work, and the New York Times, where she now works. (a Washingtonian magazine piece back then presciently asked, "What happens if the Post's Cheney series wins a Pulitzer?")

In criticism, the Boston Globe's Mike Feeney won; the paper provides a collection of his stories online, which range from movies to photography. It is very good work, and I applaud a newspaper which has the resources to keep publishing a writer who critiques photography (along with finalist Inga Saffron, who writes about architecture for the Philadelphia Inquirer).

But I do long for the days when beat critics such as Roger Ebert and Tom Shales won Pulitzers for the work they did in the crush of keeping readers informed, day-to-day, about TV and film. It seems to me too often the Pulitzers criticism honors go to writers who are a bit disconnected from Bobdylan5366most of the criticism average readers consume.

But since Bob Dylan got a Pulitzer for, well, being Bob Dylan, maybe that's already taken care of.

Here's the list of winners, courtesy of the AP:

Public Service: The Washington Post
Breaking News Reporting: The Washington Post staff
Investigative Reporting: Walt Bogdanich and Jake Hooker of The New York Times and The Chicago Tribune Staff
Explanatory Reporting: Amy Harmon of The New York Times
Local Reporting: David Umhoefer of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
National Reporting: Jo Becker and Barton Gellman of The Washington Post
International Reporting: Steve Fainaru of The Washington Post
Feature Writing: Gene Weingarten of The Washington Post
Commentary: Steven Pearlstein of The Washington Post
Criticism: Mark Feeney of The Boston Globe
Editorial Writing: No Award
Editorial Cartooning: Michael Ramirez of Investor’s Business Daily Breaking News
Photography: Adrees Latif of Reuters Feature Photography: Preston Gannaway of the Concord (N.H.) Monitor


Fiction: “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao,” by Junot Diaz (Riverhead Books)
Drama: “August: Osage County,” by Tracy Letts
History: “What Hath God Wrought: the Transformation of America, 1815-1848,” by Daniel Walker Howe (Oxford University Press)
Biography: “Eden’s Outcasts: The Story of Louisa May Alcott and Her Father,” by John Matteson (W.W. Norton)
Poetry: “Time and Materials,” by Robert Hass (Ecco/HarperCollins) and “Failure,” by Philip Schultz (Harcourt)
General Nonfiction: “The Years of Extermination: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1939-1945,” by Saul Friedlander (HarperCollins)

MUSIC: “The Little Match Girl Passion,” by David Lang, premiered Oct. 25, 2007, at Carnegie Hall, New York. (G. Schirmer, Inc.)



[Last modified: Wednesday, July 21, 2010 2:45pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours