Make us your home page

The Feed

What you're talking about today

Eric Deggans joins George Foster Peabody Awards Board



The University of Georgia has included me among three new members added to the George Foster Peabody Awards Board, the group which selects one of the most prestigious honors in electronic media.


In March, I’ll join John Huey, former editor in chief of Time Inc. and Henry Jenkins, a professor of communication, journalism, cinematic arts and education at the University of Southern California as new board members participating in the awards selection process for the first time.

The board’s 12 other members include NPR and CNN veteran Charlayne Hunter Gault; Huffington Post TV critic Maureen Ryan; N. Bird Runningwater, Director of the Native American and Indigenous Program at the Sundance Institute; and Dr. Jeffrey P. Jones, Director of the Peabody Awards.

“These are interesting times in the shifting landscape of electronic media, ” said Jones in a statement. “These three individuals bring us extensive knowledge and expertise that can help navigate that landscape as we determine just what constitutes ‘excellence’ in a convergent media era. We are grateful for their commitment of time and effort.”

Certainly, I’m humbled and honored to be included among such an amazing group of journalists, educators, authors and thought leaders. Can’t help thinking that I’m going to learn a lot more about how to judge great TV, which makes this an amazing learning opportunity as well as a chance to help shape one of the highest honors in media.

As the press release on the board additions noted: "The Peabody Awards, established in 1940 and administered by UGA’s Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, are the oldest honor in electronic media. Today the Peabody recognizes distinguished achievement and meritorious public service by stations, networks, producing organizations and individuals. For more information, visit or follow @Peabody_Awards on Twitter."

Click here to see more about the Peabody Board. And look below for highlights from last year’s ceremony; winners in 2014’s contest receive their awards during an event in May.

[Last modified: Thursday, September 12, 2013 10:27am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours