Make us your home page

The Feed

What you're talking about today

Florida Book Awards winners for 2015 announced

Dianne Ochiltree's 'It's a Seashell Day' won the gold medal for children's literature.

Blue Apple Books

Dianne Ochiltree's 'It's a Seashell Day' won the gold medal for children's literature.



The winners of the 2015 Florida Book Awards have been announced, and several Tampa Bay area authors are on the list.

University of Tampa professor Donald Morrill took the silver medal for poetry for Awaiting Your Impossibilities, and Gabriel Horn of St. Petersburg won the bronze in the YA category for Motherless

South of the bay, Dianne Ochiltree of Sarasota won the gold medal and Reichert Award for children's literature for It's a Seashell Day, Patricia Gussin won the gold in popular fiction for her thriller After the Fall, and June Melby Benowitz took the bronze in general nonfiction for Challenge and Change: Right-Wing Women, Grassroots Activism and the Baby Boom Generation.

This is the tenth year for the Florida Book Awards. More than 200 hundred eligible publications were submitted across the nine categories of competition.

Coordinated by the Florida State University Libraries, the Florida Book Awards were established in 2006 to celebrate the best Florida literature. Authors must be full-time Florida residents, except in the Florida nonfiction and visual arts categories, where the subject matter must focus on Florida.

The awards will be presented April 7 at a banquet in Tallahassee.

Here are the 2015 winners. The Spanish-language category winners will be announced later.

Children's literature: Dianne Ochiltree, It's a Seashell Day, gold; Lane Fredrickson, Monster Trouble, silver; Christina Diaz Gonzalez, Moving Target, bronze.

Florida nonfiction: Susan Cerulean, Coming to Pass: Florida's Coastal Islands in a Gulf of Change, gold; Arva M. Parks, George Merrick: Son of the South Wind, silver; Tameka Bradkey Hobbs, Democracy Abroad, Lynching at Home, bronze.

General fiction: Jesse Goolsby, I'd Walk With My Friends If I Could Find Them, gold; Gracie L. Chandler, Free to Be, silver; Katherine Clark, The Headmaster's Darlings, bronze.

General nonfiction: Cynthia Barnett, Rain: A Natural and Cultural History, gold; J. Matthew Gallman, Defining Duty in the Civil War, silver; June Melby Benowitz, Challenge and Change, bronze.

Poetry: Brandi George, Gog, gold; Donald Morrill, Awaiting Your Impossibilities, silver; Jonathan Fink, The Crossing, bronze.

Popular fiction: Patricia Gussin, After the Fall, gold; Marti Green, The Price of Justice, silver; Bruce Thomason, Perception of Power, bronze.

Visual arts: Nic Stoltzfus, Coastal Dune Lakes, gold; Robert L. Crawford, Ticks and Politics, silver.

Young adult: Shaun David Hutchinson, The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley, gold; Patrick Kendrick, The Savants, silver; Gabriel Horn, Motherless, bronze.


[Last modified: Wednesday, March 2, 2016 1:23pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours