Rain76° FULL FORECASTRain76° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

The Feed

What you're talking about today

People Magazine enters conversation on gun control

People editorial director Jess Cagle

AP

People editorial director Jess Cagle

8

October

People Magazine, the nation’s source for the latest on Taylor Swift’s love life, is getting political.

Wednesday the magazine published a letter from editorial director Jess Cagle on gun violence in the wake of last week’s mass shooting at Umpqua Community College in Roseburg, Oregon. In the letter, Cagle urges readers to take action by calling, emailing or tweeting their elected officials. The magazine included the phone number, Twitter handle and email addresses of all 535 members of Congress.

With a weekly reach 48.2 million adults each week, People has the largest audience of any other American magazine. Regardless of your views on gun control, it’s a big move from a major media player.

If you’re interesting in contacting your elected official, here’s who represents Florida and the bay area in Congress:

Senate

Sen. Bill Nelson

Phone: 202-224-5274 

Email: Sen.Billnelson@opencongress.org 

Twitter: @SenBillNelson

 

Sen. Marco Rubio 

Phone: 202-224-3041 

Email: Sen.Rubio@opencongress.org 

Twitter: @SenRubioPress

 

House of Representatives 

Rep. Richard Nugent 

Phone: 202-225-1002 

Email: Rep.Nugent@opencongress.org 

Twitter: @RepRichNugent

 

Rep. Gus M. Bilirakis 

Phone: 202-225-5755 

Email: Rep.Bilirakis@opencongress.org 

Twitter: @RepGusBilirakis

 

Rep. David Jolly 

Phone: 202-225-5961 

Email: Rep.Jolly@opencongress.org 

Twitter: @USRepDavidJolly

 

Rep. Kathy Castor 

Phone: 202-225-3376 

Email: Rep.Castor@opencongress.org 

Twitter: @USRepKCastor

 

Rep. Dennis Ross 

Phone: 202-225-1252 

Email: Rep.Dennisross@opencongress.org 

Twitter: @RepDennisRoss

 

Rep. Vern Buchanan 

Phone: 202-225-5015 

Email: Rep.Buchanan@opencongress.org 

Twitter: @VernBuchanan

[Last modified: Thursday, October 8, 2015 1:50pm]

    

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

Loading...