Saturday, September 22, 2018
  • The Heater
  • Marc Topkin

What you need to know about Rays spring training

All you need to know about Rays spring training:

THE DISH

The Rays open spring training this week in Port Charlotte, with workouts for pitchers and catchers starting at 10:30 a.m. Wednesday, lasting about 2½ hours and continuing daily through Feb. 22 at the Charlotte Sports Park (2300 El Jobean Road). For more information: (941) 235-5025.

WINTER LEDGER

Key additions

Via trade, with former team: INF Christian Arroyo (Giants), INF Ryan Schimpf (Padres), OF Denard Span (Giants), INF Joey Wendle (A's).
Via waivers: INF Micah Johnson (Giants).

Via free agency: Re-signed RHP Sergio Romo  (not yet added to roster).

KEY SUBTRACTIONS

Via free agency, with new team: OF Peter Bourjos (Cubs), RHP Steve Cishek (Cubs), RHP Alex Cobb, 1B/DH Lucas Duda, RHP Tommy Hunter (Phillies), 1B Logan Morrison, INF Trevor Plouffe, OF Colby Rasmus..

Via trades: RHP Brad Boxberger (D'backs), 3B Evan Longoria (Giants).
Via waivers: C Curt Casali (Rangers), RHP Taylor Guerrieri (Blue Jays), OF César Puello (D'backs), RHP Shawn Tolleson (Rangers), RHP Chase Whitley (Braves)

COACHING CHANGES

Only two coaches are back in the same position as 2017, Chad Mottola (hitting) and Stan Boroski (bullpen). In new roles are Charlie Montoyo (from third to bench) and Rocco Baldelli (from first to field coordinator). New to the staff are Matt Quatraro (third), Kyle Snyder (pitching) and Ozzie Timmons (first).

SPRING ROSTER

Here is the 65-man roster — as of now — as the Rays head to camp, an asterisk marks non-roster invitees:

Pitchers (35)
78 Ruben Alaniz*
46 Jose Alvarado (L)
35 Matt Andriese
22 Chris Archer
83 Kyle Bird* (L)
63 Diego Castillo
64 Yonny Chirinos
37 Alex Colome
87 Jose De Leon
24 Nathan Eovaldi
34 Jake Faria
67 Edwin Fierro*
72 Ian Gibaut*
62 Cody Hall*
59 Brent Honeywell
58 Chih-Wei Hu
43 Dan Jennings (L)
36 Andrew Kittredge
56 Adam Kolarek* (L)
65 Jose Mujica
60 Colton Murray*
38 Vidal Nuno* (L)
23 Jake Odorizzi
50 Austin Pruitt
52 Chaz Roe
47 Dan Runzler* (L)
57 Jaime Schultz
54 Evan Scribner*
4 Blake Snell (L)
68 Forrest Snow*
55 Ryne Stanek
49 Jonny Venters* (L)
69 Ryan Weber*
61 Hunter Wood
48 Ryan Yarbrough (L)

Catchers (7)
84 Xorge Carillo*
72 Nick Ciuffo*
46 Johhny Monell*
31 Adam Moore*
40 Wilson Ramos
45 Jesus Sucre
80 Brett Sullivan*

Infielders (14)
27 Willy Adames
21 Christian Arroyo
70 Jake Bauers
81 Jake Cronenworth*
5 Matt Duffy
11 Adeiny Hechavarria
7 Micah Johnson
82 Grant Kay*
13 Brad Miller
28 Daniel Robertson
14 Ryan Schimpf
29 Brandon Snyder*
18 Joey Wendle
73 Kean Wong*

Outfielders (9)
17 Jason Coats*
10 Corey Dickerson
74 Johnny Field*
39 Kevin Kiermaier
75 Joe McCarthy*
0 Mallex Smith
20 Steven Souza Jr.
2 Denard Span
71 Justin Williams

Coaches
16 Kevin Cash, manager
15 Rocco Baldelli, field
41 Stan Boroski, bullpen
25 Charlie Montoyo, third
51 Chad Mottola, hitting
33 Matt Quatraro, third
44 Kyle Snyder, pitching
30 Ozzie Timmons, first
SPRING SCHEDULE

Spring training tickets are on sale; see raysbaseball.com/spring or call toll-free 888-326-7297 (FAN-RAYS) for more information. Home games are played at the Charlotte Sports Park, Port Charlotte.

Friday, Feb. 23 (ss) Pirates, 1:05 p.m., (ss) at Orioles, 1:05 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 24 at Red Sox, 1:05 p.m.
Sunday, Feb. 25 at Twins, 1:05 p.m.
Monday, Feb. 26 Blue Jays, 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 27 Orioles, 1:05 p.m.
Wednesday, Feb. 28 at Twins (ss), 1:05 p.m.
Thursday, March 1 Orioles, 1:05 p.m.
Friday, March 2 Phillies, 1:05 p.m.
Saturday, March 3 at Tigers, 1:05 p.m.
Sunday, March 4 at Yankees, 1:05 p.m.
Monday, March 5 OFF
Tuesday, March 6 Red Sox, 1:05 p.m.
Wednesday, March 7 Orioles, 1:05 p.m.
Thursday, March 8 at Red Sox, 1:05 p.m.
Friday, March 9 Twins, 1:05 p.m.
Saturday, March 10 at Phillies, 1:05 p.m.
Sunday, March 11 Twins, 1:05 p.m.
Monday, March 12 OFF
Tuesday, March 13 at Phillies, 1:05 p.m.
Wednesday, March 14 at Pirates, 1:05 p.m.
Thursday, March 15 Twins, 1:05 p.m.
Friday, March 16 at Twins, 1:05 p.m.
Saturday, March 17 at Red Sox, 1:05 p.m.
Sunday, March 18 Tigers, 1:05 p.m.
Monday, March 19 at Yankees, 6:35 p.m.
Tuesday, March 20 at Orioles, 6:05 p.m.
Wednesday, March 21 Red Sox, 1:05 p.m.
Thursday, March 22 at Blue Jays (ss), 1:05 p.m.
Friday, March 23 (ss) Blue Jays, 1:05 p.m., (ss) at Orioles., 1:05 p.m.
Saturday, March 24 at Pirates, 1:05 p.m.
Sunday, March 25 Yankees, 1:05 p.m.
Monday, March 26 at Tigers, 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday, March 27 Tigers Tropicana Field, 12:35 p.m.
Wednesday, March 28 Workout
Thursday, March 29 Season-opener vs. Red Sox at Trop, 4.

Marc Topkin can be reached at [email protected] Follow @TBTimes_Rays.

Comments