Make us your home page

Crawford voted Rays Team MVP, Davis tabbed top rookie



In an extremely-close vote, Rays leftfielder Carl Crawford was named the team's Most Valuable Player, as voted by the Tampa Bay chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.


Crawford, who received six first-place votes (43 points) just edged closer Rafael Soriano, who had five and 41 points, in the closest MVP vote in the 13-year history of the award.

Both certainly had a strong case with Crawford, a four-time All-Star, having arguably the best season of his career, and Soriano - in his first season with the Rays - setting a new club record with 44 saves.

Crawford also won the Paul C. Smith Champion Award for the player who best exemplifies the spirit of true professionalism on and off the field.

RHP Wade Davis was named the Most Outstanding Rookie with 52 points, beating out C John Jaso (42) and Reid Brignac (14).

Here's how the voting turned out:

Carl Crawford 43 (6 first-place votes)
Rafael Soriano 41 (5-first place votes)
David Price 14 (1 first-place vote)

Outstanding Rookie
Wade Davis 52
John Jaso 42
Reid Brignac 14

Paul C. Smith Champion Award
Carl Crawford 44
Ben Zobrist 20
James Shields 17


[email protected]


[Last modified: Friday, October 29, 2010 12:15am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours