Make us your home page

Crawford wins Silver Slugger Award



Free-agent OF Carl Crawford picked up another parting gift on Thursday, winning his first AL Silver Slugger Award.

Crawford was one of three AL outfielders chosen in a vote of league managers and coaches to name the best offensive producers at each position. Crawford hit .307 with a career-high 19 homers and 90 RBIs in his ninth and last season with the Rays. The others were Texas' Josh Hamilton (a former Rays prospect) and Toronto's Jose Bautista.

The winners were announced on an MLB Network special.

On Tuesday, Crawford won his first Gold Glove award. He is one of three AL players to win both awards this year, joining Twins C Joe Mauer and Yankees 2B Robinson Cano.

Crawford is the third Ray to win the Silver Slugger award, joining 1B Carlos Pena (2007) and 3B Evan Longoria (2009).

Here is the full list of AL and NL winners:

American League
1B   –  Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers
2B   –  Robinson Cano, New York Yankees
3B   –  Adrian Beltre, Boston Red Sox
SS    –  Alexei Ramirez, Chicago White Sox
OF   –  Jose Bautista, Toronto Blue Jays
OF   –  Carl Crawford, Tampa Bay Rays
OF   –  Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers
C      – Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins
DH - Vladimir Guerrero, Texas Rangers

National League
1B   –  Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals
2B   –  Dan Uggla, Florida Marlins
3B   –  Ryan Zimmerman, Washington Nationals
SS    –  Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado Rockies
OF   –  Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers
OF   –  Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado Rockies
OF   –  Matt Holliday, St. Louis Cardinals
C      – Brian McCann, Atlanta Braves
P      –  Yovani Gallardo, Milwaukee Brewers

[Last modified: Saturday, December 11, 2010 12:15am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours