Make us your home page

Davis fourth, Jaso fifth in AL rookie voting; Posey wins NL honor



Rays pitcher Wade Davis finished fourth and catcher John Jaso fifth in the AL Rookie of the Year voting, which was won by Texas reliever Neftali Feliz. Giants catcher Buster Posey, the former Florida State star, won the NL award

Davis received 11 of the 28 third-place votes; Jaso received just one second-place vote. Overall in the AL voting by members of the Baseball Writers Association of America, Detroit outfielder Austin Jackson was second and Minnesota infielder Danny Valencia third.

                                                        1st   2nd   3rd   Points
Neftali Feliz, Texas Rangers              20     7       1   122 
Austin Jackson, Detroit Tigers             8    19      1    98 
Danny Valencia, Minnesota Twins              1       9    12 
Wade Davis, Tampa Bay Rays                           11    11
John Jaso, Tampa Bay Rays                       1               3 
Brennan Boesch, Detroit Tigers                          3      3 
Brian Matusz, Baltimore Orioles                          3      3

[Last modified: Wednesday, December 15, 2010 12:15am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours