Make us your home page

East Lake's Coghlan named NL rookie of the year; Rays' Niemann fourth in AL



Florida Marlins outfielder Chris Coghlan, a former East Lake standout, has been named the National League Rookie of the Year.

Tampa Bay Rays RHP Jeff Niemann came up short in his bid to win AL Rookie of the Year, as he finished fourth.

Coghlan edged Philadelphia Phillies pitcher J.A. Happ in a tight race after receiving 17 first-place votes and 105 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Happ had 10 first-place votes and 94 points.

Oakland reliever Andrew Bailey won the AL award, announced Monday by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Bailey, who had 26 saves, had 88 points, with Rangers shortstop Elvis Andrus finishing second (65), followed by Tigers RHP Rick Porcello (64).

Niemann took fourth with 21 points, receiving five second place votes and six third place votes.

"It was an honor to be in the mix," Niemann said. "Bailey had great numbers, an All-Star appearance, so you can't take that away from him. ... Hopefully I can build off what I did and take it into next year."

Niemann, who led the Rays staff with 13 wins and two complete games, had said he was thrilled just to be considered for the award, citing his humble beginnings of having to wait until the final day of spring training to find out he had won the fifth starter spot.

-- KEITH NIEBUHR, JOE SMITH, Times Staff Writers

[Last modified: Monday, December 21, 2009 12:52am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours