Make us your home page

Hellickson co-winner of AL Gold Glove



Rays RHP Jeremy Hellickson was named co-winner of the AL Gold Glove award for pitchers, sharing the honor with Chicago's Jake Peavy.

Rays LF Desmond Jennings also was a finalist, but lost out to Kansas City's Alex Gordon, who won last year as well.

Hellickson is the fourth Ray to win a Gold Glove award, following Carlos Pena (2008, first base); Evan Longoria (2009-10, third base) and Carl Crawford (2010, outfield).

He said the pitchers put in a lot of time to work on their defense.  "Absolutely. We all take a great deal of pride in our fielding, we work on it all during spring training,'' Hellickson said. "We all grew up playing the field and all of us would love to win this. We love competing fielding-wise as far as pitching-wise.'

The awards are voted on by league coaches and managers.

Hellickson is the second pitcher in history to win both the Rookie of the Year and Gold Glove Award, joining the Dodgers' Fernando Valenzuela, who  was the top rookie in 1982 and a Gold Glover in 1986.

The tie vote was the first among pitchers, and the third at any position, most recently in 2007, when four NL outfielders shared the award (given then to the top three regardless of position) and similarly in 1985 in the AL.

Hellickson also became the first pitcher to win the award in only his third big-league season. Three pitchers won it in their fourth season: Jim Kaat, Twins, 1962; Mark Langston, Mariners, 1987; Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers, 2011.

[Last modified: Tuesday, October 30, 2012 10:54pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours