Make us your home page

Maddon third in AL Manager of Year vote



The Rays Joe Maddon finished third in the AL Manager of the Year voting.

Minnesota's Ron Gardenhire won, and Texas' Ron Washington was second.

Maddon received one first place vote, 10 seconds and 9 thirds and finished with 44 points. Gardenhire had 16-8-4 for 108 points, Washington 10-8-7 for 81.

Boston's Terry Francona was fourth, Toronto's Cito Gaston (who received the other first-place vote) was fifth, and New York's Joe Girardi sixth.

Maddon's first place vote came from the Toronto Star's Mark Zwolinski, who had Gardenhire second and Girardi third. Voting is done at the end of the regular season by members of the Baseball Writers Association of America, with two ballots cast in each league city.


[Last modified: Friday, December 17, 2010 12:15am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours