Make us your home page

McGriff falls short; Dawson elected



UPDATE, 4:05: McGriff sounded disappointed but not surprised Wednesday afternoon. "It's a great honor just to be on the ballot,'' he said. "I knew it was going to be tough that first year.''

He was glad to see Andre Dawson elected and surprised, as were many others, that he went in alone, saying he expected Bert Blyleven to also be voted in. McGriff also took some solace knowing that it took years for Dawson and Jim Rice before him to get elected. "Those guys were great players, they put up great numbers.'' McGriff said. "This is out of your control. I was blessed to play 19 years. I had a great time. And that's all you can do.''

DEVELOPING: Tampa's Fred McGriff fell considerably short of the Hall of Fame in his first year on the ballot.

Andre Dawson was the only player elected; Bert Blyleven and Roberto Alomar just missed.

McGriff received 21.5 percent of the vote (116 ballots) and will have more chances - players can stay on the ballot for up to 15 years as long as they get five percent of the vote.

Dawson was named on 77.9 percent of the votes cast, 420 total. A player needs 75 percent of the vote to be elected - Blyleven just missed, by five votes, finishing with 400, which was 74.2 percent. Alomar, expected to be a first-ballot selection, finished with 397 votes, 73.7 percent.

Next in line were Jack Morris (282 votes, 52.3 percent), Barry Larkin (278, 51.6), Lee Smith (255, 47.3), Edgar Martinez (195, 36.2), Tim Raines (164, 30.4), Mark McGwire (128, 23.7), Alan Trammell (121, 22.4).

McGriff, 46, played 19 seasons, including parts of five with his hometown Rays. He finished with 493 home runs, a .284 average and 1,550 RBIs. He also played for the Blue Jays, Padres, Braves, Cubs and Dodgers.

McGriff was most noted for his consistency throughout his career and, more so given recent developments, his reputation for playing the game clean. Though McGriff never had a 40- or 50-homer season or won an MVP award, he put up impressive numbers - during a 15-year period from 1988-2002, he averaged 30 homers, 97 RBIs and had a .380 on-base percentage.

Dropping off the ballot for receiving less than 5 percent of the vote were Andres Galarraga, Robin Ventura, Ellis Burks, Eric Karros, Kevin Appier, Pat Hentgen, David Segui, Mike Jackson, Ray Lankford, Shane Reynolds and Todd Zeile.

The complete vote (from

Name                      Votes Pct.
Andre Dawson        420  77.9% 
Bert Blyleven          400  74.2% 
Roberto Alomar       397  73.7% 
Jack Morris              282  52.3% 
Barry Larkin            278  51.6% 
Lee Smith               255  47.3% 
Edgar Martinez       195  36.2% 
Tim Raines              164  30.4% 
Mark McGwire         128  23.7% 
Alan Trammell         121  22.4% 
Fred McGriff             116  21.5% 
Don Mattingly            87  16.1% 
Dave Parker              82  15.2% 
Dale Murphy             63  11.7% 
Harold Baines           33  6.1% 
Andres Galarraga     22  4.1% 
Robin Ventura             7  1.3% 
Ellis Burks                   2  0.4% 
Eric Karros                  2  0.4% 
Kevin Appier               1  0.2% 
Pat Hentgen               1  0.2% 
David Segui                1  0.2% 
Mike Jackson               0  0.0% 
Ray Lankford               0  0.0% 
Shane Reynolds          0  0.0% 
Todd Zeile                   0  0.0% 
Note: 405 votes (75%) required for enshrinement.




[Last modified: Friday, February 5, 2010 12:15am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours