Promo schedule includes Friday fireworks

18

February

UPDATE, 3:55: The Rays are now saying Shields and Upton will be featured on two of the T-shirt giveaways, but have not provided a full list.

DEVELOPING: The Rays are releasing their promotion schedule for the season, with a focus on Friday nights, where there will be collectible T-shirts for the first 10,000 fans, postgame (real) fireworks, food and drink specials, prize giveaways and post-game parties.

Overall there are 42 promotion dates, most on the weekends. Fridays have been an area of focus as the Rays have tried different methods to build attendance. The fireworks concept was tried once before pre-game, and the smoke didn't clear. Doing it post-game eliminates that concern.

There will be 10 post-game concerts on Saturdays, with the acts to be announced later.

Sunday's feature giveaways for kids 14 and under, including a Zorilla Gorilla Webkinz (for Ben Zobrist) on April 25, a flying Carl Crawford action figure (with a parachute) on May 2, a Carlos Pena action figure toothbrush holder on May 30 and a Jeff Niemann (he's the 6-foot-9 one) growth chart on Aug. 1. There will also be bobbleheads for Jason Bartlett (June 13), Evan Longoria (June 27), David Price (July 11), Matt Garza (Aug. 15).

There will be Joe Maddon glasses giveaway on April 7 and a super cowbell on April 8.

Among players not featured in the scheduled giveaways are CF B.J. Upton and RHP James Shields.

2010 RAYS PROMO SCHEDULE 
Date        Opponent     Item           Sponsor   Qty.
Tues, Apr 6 Orioles       Schedule Magnet Tropicana all fans
Wed, Apr 7 Orioles       Joe Maddon Glasses Match Up first 10,000 fans
Thurs, Apr 8 Orioles     Super Cowbell Chick-fil-A first 10,000 fans
Fri, Apr 9 Yankees        Rays New Alternate Jersey T-shirt St. Pete Times first 10,000 fans
Sun, Apr 11 Yankees    Rafael Soriano Youth T-shirt Majestic first 10,000 kids
Fri, Apr 23 Blue Jays     Rays Collectible T-Shirt #2 St. Pete Times first 10,000 women
Sat, Apr 24 Blue Jays    Postgame Concert Hess Express all fans
Sun, Apr 25 Blue Jays   Zorilla Gorilla Webkinz Sun Sports first 10,000 kids
Fri, Apr 30 Royals          Rays Collectible T-Shirt #3 St. Pete Times first 10,000 fans
Sat, May 1 Royals          Postgame Concert Hess Express all fans
Sun, May 2 Royals         Flying Carl Crawford RE/MAX first 10,000 kids
Fri, May 14 Mariners      Rays Collectible T-Shirt #4 St. Pete Times first 10,000 fans
Sat, May 15 Mariners     Postgame Concert Hess Express all fans
Sun, May 16 Mariners    Rays Light Blue Hat New Era first 10,000 kids
Fri, May 28 White Sox    Rays Collectible T-Shirt #5 St. Pete Times first 10,000 fans
Sat, May 29 White Sox  Postgame Concert Hess Express all fans
Sun, May 30 White Sox Carlos Peña Toothbrush Holder Chevrolet first 10,000 kids
Fri, Jun 11 Marlins          Rays Collectible T-Shirt #6 St. Pete Times first 10,000 fans
Sat, Jun 12 Marlins        Postgame Concert Hess Express all fans
Sun, Jun 13 Marlins       Jason Bartlett Bobblehead first 10,000 kids
Thurs, Jun 24 Padres    Cheer Sticks all kids
Fri, Jun 25 D-backs        Rays Collectible T-Shirt #7 St. Pete Times first 10,000 women
Sat, Jun 26 D-backs       Postgame Concert Hess Express all fans
Sun, Jun 27 D-backs      Evan Longoria Bobblehead first 10,000 kids
Fri, Jul 9 Indians Rays   Collectible T-Shirt #8 St. Pete Times first 10,000 fans
Sat, Jul 10 Indians        Postgame Concert Hess Express all fans
Sun, Jul 11 Indians        David Price Bobblehead first 10,000 kids
Thurs, Jul 29 Tigers       Cheer Sticks all kids
Fri, Jul 30 Yankees         Rays Collectible T-Shirt #9 St. Pete Times first 10,000 fans
Sun, Aug 1 Yankees       Jeff Niemann Growth Chart Grow Financial first 10,000 kids
Thurs, Aug 5 Twins        Cheer Sticks all kids
Fri, Aug 13 Orioles         Rays Collectible T-Shirt #10 St. Pete Times first 10,000 women
Sat, Aug 14 Orioles        Postgame Concert Hess Express all fans
Sun, Aug 15 Orioles       Matt Garza Bobblehead first 10,000 kids
Fri, Aug 27 Red Sox       Rays Collectible T-Shirt #11 St. Pete Times first 10,000 fans
Sun, Aug 29 Red Sox     Raymond Pool Tube first 10,000 kids
Fri, Sep 17 Angels         Rays Collectible T-Shirt #12 St. Pete Times first 10,000 fans
Sat, Sep 18 Angels        Postgame Concert Hess Express all fans
Sun, Sep 19 Angels       Rays Superhero Cape first 10,000 kids
Fri, Sep 25 Mariners      Rays Collectible T-Shirt #13 St. Pete Times first 10,000 fans
Sat, Sep 25 Mariners     Postgame Concert Hess Express all fans
Sun, Sep 26 Mariners    Rays Recyclable Beach Set Waste Mgmt. first 10,000 kids

 

[Last modified: Saturday, March 20, 2010 12:15am]

    

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

Loading...