Make us your home page

Rays of the future honored



RHP Wade Davis was named the Rays minor-league pitcher of the year and OF Ryan Royster the player of the year. Davis had a combined 2.50 ERA between Class A Vero and Double-A Montgomery. Royster, playing for Class A Columnbus, led the organization with a .329 average, 30 homers and 98 RBIs.

Also, 3B Pat Cottrell was named winner of the Erik Walker Community Champion Award, recognizing a player who exemplifies teamwork, sportsmanship and community involvement.

Other players honored Wednesday include:

Justin Ruggiano – Durham Bulls Player of the Year
Jeff Niemann – Durham Bulls Pitcher of the Year

Evan Longoria – Montgomery Biscuits Player of the Year
Chris Mason – Montgomery Biscuits Pitcher of the Year

Rhyne Hughes – Vero Beach Devil Rays Player of the Year
Jake McGee – Vero Beach Devil Rays Pitcher of the Year

Desmond Jennings – Columbus Catfish Player of the Year
Lewis Rollins – Columbus Catfish Pitcher of the Year

Emeel Salem – Hudson Valley Renegades Player of Year
Alex Cobb – Hudson Valley Renegades Pitcher of the Year

Omar Luna – Princeton Rays Player of the Year
Jeremy Hall – Princeton Rays Pitcher of the Year

Ramon Novas – Rays Dominican League Player of the Year
Juan Santana – Rays Dominican League Pitcher of the Year

Julio Cedeno – Rays Venezuelan League Player of the Year
Omar Bencomo – Rays Venezuelan League Pitcher of the Year

[Last modified: Monday, December 21, 2009 12:32am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours