Make us your home page

Rays lineup and roster set



The Rays just released their official 25-man Division Series roster, and it was just as expected, with rookie LHP David Price in the bullpen and RHPs Edwin Jackson and Troy Percival on the sidelines. Also, rookie OF Fernando Perez is on the roster, as the Rays opted for 15 position players and 10 pitchers.

The full roster is below; what's interesting is that Ben Zobrist is listed as an outfielder, which could be a hint at who is starting in rightfield on Friday against lefty Mark Buerhle.

The lineups for today's first-ever playoff game in Rays history have been posted, and they look like this:

Iwamura, 2b
Upton, cf
Pena, 1b
Longoria, 3b
Crawford, lf
Floyd, dh
Navarro, c
Gross, rf
Bartlett, ss
Shields, p

Cabrera, ss
WIse, lf
Dye, rf
Thome, dh
Konerko, 1b
Griffey, cf
Ramirez, 2b
Pierzynski, c
Uribe, 3b
Vazquez, p

There is already activity on the field, as the color guard is practicing with an American flag that literally covers the entire outfield. Fans are already hanging around outside, TV crews are setting up stages for live remotes, and the national media are filing in. An example of what's different - rather than have their bags checked by a Trop security guard, reporters have to put them on the ground so they can be checked by a bomb-sniffing dog.


James Shields
Scott Kazmir
Matt Garza
Andy Sonnanstine

Grant Balfour
Chad Bradford
J.P. Howell
Trever Miller
David Price
Dan Wheeler

Michel Hernandez
Dioner Navarro

Willy Ayabr
Jason Bartlett
Akinori Iwamura
Evan Longoria
Carlos Pena

Rocco Baldelli
Carl Crawford
Cliff Floyd
Gabe Gross
Eric Hinske
Fernando Perez
B.J. Upton
Ben Zobrist

[Last modified: Monday, December 21, 2009 12:40am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours