Make us your home page

Rays roster appears set



Though not official, still pending MLB approval and conceivably subject to change, the Rays roster for the division series appears set. The final piece became apparent when RHP Troy Percival said he is not expecting to be on the roster, meaning rookie LHP David Price will be. As will OF Fernando Perez, as the Rays opted for 10 pitchers and 15 position players.

If all goes as planned, this is what they will submit by Thursday's 10 a.m. deadline:

James Shields
Scott Kazmir
Matt Garza
Andy Sonnanstine

Grant Balfour
Chad Bradford
J.P. Howell
Trever Miller
David Price
Dan Wheeler

Dioner Navarro
Michel Hernandez

Willy Aybar
Jason Bartlett
Akinori Iwamura
Evan Longoria
Carlos Pena
Ben Zobrist

Rocco Baldelli
Carl Crawford
Gabe Gross
Eric Hinske
Fernando Perez
B.J. Upton

Cliff Floyd

At least five of the players not on the roster will continue to work out and travel with the team, as injured players can be replaced during and between series: C John Jaso, OF Jonny Gomes, RHPs Edwin Jackson, Jason Hammel, and Troy Percival.

Others not chosen include 1B Dan Johnson and OF Justin Ruggiano. C Shawn Riggans and INF Reid Brignac are continuing their recoveries from injury and could be available, if needed, in later rounds.


[Last modified: Monday, December 21, 2009 12:40am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours