Make us your home page

Rays shut out of Gold Glove awards



For the first time in four seasons, the Rays have no American League Gold Glove Award winners.

While 3B Evan Longoria, 1B Casey Kotchman and LF Sam Fuld were all among the top-three finalists for best defensive player at their respective positions, none claimed the main prize when they were announced Tuesday night on ESPN2's award show.

Longoria, who had won back-to-back AL Gold Gloves at third base, was unseated by Rangers 3B Adrian Beltre. Kotchman, who led all major league first baseman this year with a .998 fielding percentage, was topped by Red Sox 1B Adrian Gonzalez. The Royals' Alex Gordon took the AL leftfield award.  

Gold Glove Award Winners

Pitcher: Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
Catcher: Yadier Molina, Cardinals

LF Gerardo Parra, Diamondbacks
CF Matt Kemp, Dodgers
RF Andre Ethier, Dodgers

1B: Joey Votto, Reds
2B: Brandon Phillips, Reds
SS: Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies
3B: Placido Polanco, Phillies

Pitcher: Mark Buehrle, White Sox
Catcher: Matt Wieters, Orioles

LF: Alex Gordon, Royals
CF: Jacoby Ellsbury, Red Sox
RF: Nick Markakis, Orioles

1B: Adrian Gonzalez, Red Sox
2B: Dustin Pedroia, Red SOx
3B: Adrian Beltre, Rangers
SS: Erick Aybar, Angels

[Last modified: Thursday, December 1, 2011 12:40am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours