Make us your home page

Rays unveil all-time Al Lang team



The Rays named 25 players - including 21 Hall of Famers - to their all-time Al Lang Field (and Waterfront Park) team today, picking from the Boston Braves (1922-37), New York Yankees (1925-42, 1946-50, 1952-61), St. Louis Cardinals (1938-42, 1946-97), New York Giants (1951), New York Mets (1962-87), Baltimore Orioles (1992-95) and Tampa Bay Rays (1998-2008).

Their choices:
Catcher -  Yogi Berra, Gary Carter
First base - Stan Musial, Lou Gehrig
Second base - Rogers Hornsby, Red Schoendienst
Third base - Wade Boggs, Ken Boyer|
Shortstop - Ozzie Smith, Cal Ripken
Outfield - Joe DiMaggio, Willie Mays, Monte Irvin, Mickey Mantle, Roger Maris, Lou Brock, Babe Ruth, Darryl Strawberry
Starting pitchers - Bob Gibson, Nolan Ryan, Tom Seaver, Whitey Ford, Steve Carlton
Relief pitchers - Dennis Eckersley, Lee Smith

[Last modified: Monday, December 21, 2009 12:34am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours