Make us your home page

Rodney named team MVP; Moore top rookie, Shields Champion award winner



Closer RHP Fernando Rodney was named team MVP in the annual voting by members of the Tampa Bay chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Rodney, who has 47 saves and a reliever record 0.6053 ERA, received five of the eight first-place votes, finishing ahead of 20-game winner David Price and SS Ben Zobrist.

LHP Matt Moore was an unanimous selection as the top rookie, with C Jose Lobaton second and RHP Chris Archer third.

RHP James Shields was named winner of the Paul C. Smith Champion award, given to the player who best exemplifies the spirit of true professionalism on and off the field. Zobrist was second and Price third.

The awards were announced at a Tuesday luncheon banquet put on by the Clutch Hitters, and will be presented on the field before tonight's game.




[Last modified: Thursday, November 1, 2012 12:39am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours