Make us your home page

Staats on Hall ballot; Kalas, Oliu, Wills too



Veteran Rays TV play by play man Dewayne Staats is among the initial group of 200-plus candidates for the Hall of Fame Frick award, given annually for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

Also on the ballot are TV pre- and post-game host Todd Kalas, Spanish radio analyst Enrique Oliu, radio broadcaster Dave Wills and former Rays TV color man Joe Magrane (now with MLB Network), and former radio announcers Paul Olden (now the Yankees PA man) and Charlie Slowes (now with the Nationals).

The top three winners of the fan vote will join seven others on the final ballot announced in January; a 20-member panel of 2009 Frick award winner Tony Kubek, past recipients and Hall researchers will select the winner in February.

According to the Hall, fans should base their selections on four criteria: (1) longevity; (2) continuity with a club; (3) honors, including awards and national assignments, such as the World Series and All Star-Games; and (4) popularity with the fans.

Online voting starts at 10 a.m. Tuesday on the Hall Facebook page and continues for the full month.

[Last modified: Monday, December 21, 2009 12:52am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours