Make us your home page

For starters, Rays vs. Indians



The Rays will try to go for the series sweep today against the Indians with LHP David Price on the mound against Cleveland RHP Justin Masterson.

Rays lineup:

Jennings, cf

Fuld, rf

Zobrist, 2b

Longoria, 3b

Loney, 1b

Escobar, ss

Joyce, lf

Lobaton, c

Johnson, dh

The Rays starting pitching and improved defense is starting to pay dividends. Behind starters Matt Moore and Alex Cobb, Tampa Bay recorded back-to-back shutouts for the first time since 2008 and only the sixth in franchise history. The Rays have never recorded three straight shutouts.

For the first time in club history, the Rays are error-less through five games to begin a season. They are only one of four teams in baseball to have not committed an error this year.

Cy Young award winner David Price will make his second start of the season for the Rays. In the season opener agaisnt the Orioles, Price allowed a two-run homer to Matt Weiters in the first inning and through five scoreless innings but did not factor in the decision in a 7-4 loss.

Pitcher Jeremy Hellickson will receive his 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award. He was named co-winner for the American League with White Sox pitcher Jake Peavy, the first time two pitchers have tied for the honor. Hellickson will start for the Rays Monday in Texas on his 26th birthday.

"I haven't seen the one with my name and my face on their yet,'' Hellickson said of the Gold Glove Award. "It will pretty cool to finally see that and hold that up.


[Last modified: Sunday, April 7, 2013 11:56am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours