Make us your home page

Gooden, Biggio, Shields, Damon among Ted Williams museum inductees

The dinner will be held on the field at the Trop.

The dinner will be held on the field at the Trop.



Tampa native Dwight Gooden and longtime Astros star Craig Biggio head the field of 2014 inductees for the Ted Williams Hitters Museum & Hitters Hall of Fame.

Biggio, who racked up 3,060 career hits as a seven-time All-Star, is one of three hitters to be inducted Feb. 1, along with Johnny Damon and Frank Howard. Damon finished his career with 2,769 hits, Howard was a two-time AL home run champion and hit 382 total.

The Museum will also three pitchers - Gooden, who was the '85 NL Cy Young Award winner; former Rays ace James Shields, and Jim "Mudcat" Grant.

Tickets go on sale Monday to the Feb. 1 induction dinner at the Trop, which will benefit several charitable foundations

The 2014 event will be known as Dinner with Ben Zobrist & Friends, featuring David Price, Alex Cobb and Chris Archer, a nod to Price's uncertain future with the Rays. Tickets for the dinner, ceremony and autographs are $125, available at or by calling 727-534-5343.

Players confirmed for the free autograph session include Rays Chris Archer, Alex Cobb, Brandon Gomes and Jake McGee; and former big-leaguers Mike Difelice, Cecil Fielder, John Frascatore, Oscar Gamble, Mike LaValliere, Scott McGregor, Denny McLain, Tony Oliva, Richie Scheinblum, Bill Singer, Doug Waechter, Roy White and Mark Whiten.

For more details, see


[Last modified: Sunday, December 15, 2013 3:58pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours