Make us your home page

Longoria wins Rays MVP, Champion award; Snell top rookie



Rays 3B Evan Longoria was named winner of the 2016 Don Zimmer MVP Award and the Paul C. Smith Champion Award today based on voting by members of the Tampa Bay chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

LHP Blake Snell was voted the outstanding rookie.

The winners were announced at the Clutch Hitters luncheon, and will be introduced before tonight's game at the Trop.

The champion award is given to the player who best exemplifies the spirit of true professionalism on and off the field. Longoria finished ahead of Chris Archer, who won in 2015.

Snell got seven of the eight first-place votes for the rookie award, with C Luke Maile second.

Longoria was a unanimous choice for his second team MVP award, finishing well ahead of RHP Alex Colome and and 2B Logan Forsythe.

The Rays also announced their minor-league award winners, with RHP Brent Honeywell named their top pitcher and 1B Casey Gillaspie their top player.


[Last modified: Friday, September 23, 2016 3:16pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours