Make us your home page

GOP Primary in Puerto Rico



Spain ceded Puerto Rico to America in 1898 after the Spanish-American War, and Congress in 1917 made Puerto Ricans American citizens. The Democratic and Republican parties include Puerto Rico in their primaries, but under the U.S. Constitution only the 50 states and the District of Columbia are entitled to choose electors in the presidential election. One non-voting delegate represents the territory's 4 million citizens in the U.S. House.  Read the story: Puerto Rico a force in Florida voting.


See photos from Puerto Rico.

[Last modified: ]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours